Volunteering

Every Monday and Wednesday morning I go volunteering at my kids’s school. I usually spend between 1 and 3 hours there and it is the best thing I could have signed up for. Why is that?
It gives me a routine and a schedule.
I am giving back to the community.
I made and get to chat with new friends.
Without volunteers the school would never be able to run all the activities they run.
Or if they tried, those activities would run nowhere near as smooth.
I acquired a whole new sets of skills. I pwn that Rizzo now.
I have instant access to a whole lot of people that I had to schedule appointments with otherwise.
I have this ‘being productive/ having already accomplished something’ feeling when I leave which more often than not carries over into the rest of my day.
My kids see me work for them and know that I care about their education.
It’s fun.
I know that I am in the very privileged position of being able to volunteer. Many people have to work all day and have simply not the time to do this..
However, if you have the time to go do this, take the plunge and go for it. It doesn’t really matter what kind of volunteering you do, as long as you can connect with it on some level.
I promise you, your life will be better for it.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Volunteering

  1. Sound advice! Doing service is a vital part raising the inner consciousness, and brings many unforeseen benefits.

Leave a Reply

