NaNoWriMo

It is less than a month from NaNoWriMo. For those of you, who don’t know what that abbreviation means, it is National Novel Writing Month. The office of letters and light organizes it and you basically agree to/plan on writing 50,0000 words in one month, specifically the month of November. They have a website and local groups for support and all you get in the end is a certificate and the knowledge that you either won, or wrote at least way more than you would have otherwise.
I have participated in in twice and won both times. NaNoWriMo is a really good tool to focus on my writing and I intend to use it again this year. For me, it provides a structure and a set gol that I can internalize. It also provides feedback, several places for comisserating with people who understand what I’m doing, because they are doing the very same thing and also a lot of fun.
I do not specifically worry about wordcount and winning, because the supportive atmosphere will get me there. But that is just me.
Different people get different things out of this endeavor. Some people use it to get started on their projects. Some people just like to hang out with their writer friends. Some people use it to finally get that very first novel written. Many people will not finish and/or win. And that is all fine.
I find it encouraging that there is such a widespread writer community that tackles this challenge together. I have found the nicest people and massive support in this community.
So, if you are a writer type, I encourage you to also sign up for it. It will be worth your while.

Disclaimer: Nobody paid me in any way, shape, or form for talking about NaNoWriMo. This is not an ad, just my humble opinion.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to NaNoWriMo

  1. I signed up once and failed miserably! It is not for me. Like Douglas Adams I love deadlines, I love the whooshing sound they make as they pass by!

  2. ChelseaIRL says:

    oh, how I love NaNoWriMo! I’m so excited it’s almost here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

