Twitter – Confessions of an addict

I am a twitter addict. I have it open on my computer all the time and keep reading it throughout the day. I use it for several different reasons. One is, that I stay in constant, immediate contact with my far away friends. Another is, that I get real time information on current events. Be it a revolution, a sports event, or an earthquake; twitter will have the news ten times faster, usually more accurate, and without commercial interruptions.
I also love to follow political events with twitter open. There will be snarky comments, instant fact checking, and a plethora of links to in-depth analysis.
Another area where twitter has come to my aid is in the field that I want to make my ultimate profession. I follow writers, agents, editors, and writing resources. Many of whom post very interesting links on a continuing basis. Several of those writers are also following me now. It is very rewarding to see that I do not necessarily have to find them. They find me. I, of course, check them out and follow back if they are interesting. I love the immersion into the writerly mindset. And maybe, just maybe I have some book news to tweet about sometime in the future.
Of course I also follow nerdy celebrities and strictly funny accounts (self-aware Roomba comes to mind).
I also tweet quite frequently. I like to talk with people, share my ideas, and put my spin on things. I usually get my thoughts out in complete tweets without having to fall back on ths knd of spk [this kind of speak].
Sometimes I wonder if I tweet too much, or if my tweets were really understood in the way they were intended. Mostly I don’t. If twitter were to go away from one day to the next, I would really miss it. It is one of my lifelines to the outside world and I enjoy it very much.
So, yay!
This post was in no way, shape, or form sponsored by twitter or anyone affiliated with it.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Twitter – Confessions of an addict

  1. ChelseaIRL says:

    “Hi, my name is Chelsea. …And I’m a tweet-a-holic.” is there a twelve step? cuz i’m not going to the meeting. 😛
    it’s true. i see the evening news and i’m like, been there, done that. i feel so unconnected if i don’t check twitter. it’s usually how i start my day. (unless i’m doing Nanowrimo, then it’s all writing all the time. XD #replacingaddictions)

  2. wysiwyg88 says:

    Twitter is not only a source for all the things you mentioned. I don’t think I’m being overly dramatic when I say it is the closest thing to a collective telepathy that humans have yet invented. Like so much of the internet its a mirror of human society but in a new and previously untapped way.

  3. There’s a Twitter widget that you can add to your blog so that people can follow you over there.

    I, too, love Twitter. I had a love/hate (mostly hate) relationship with Facebook and we broke up a few weeks ago, but Twitter is MY social media. I love it. As a writer, too, I see every tweet as a writing exercise. How can I make the biggest impact in 140 characters.

  4. Dome Woo says:

    Collective Telepathy – I think Sam is onto something there. It is true. During the time of neglecting twitter for a while I wasn’t as up to date as I used to be. Yes, I am among you fellow twitter addicts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

