Analog and manual

Some of these days I am going to get me a typewriter. I’ll write with loud clickety clack noises and waste mountains of paper. Why would I do that? Because I like old fashioned modes and tools of communication.
I like record players and phones you have to dial. I like my combination cd and tape player too. I like getting post cards from places and hand written letters. And taking Polaroids.
I know that in this day and age, most of these things can be done with whipping out your phone and choosing an app. And I’m writing this post here on my trusty Mac which I don’t want to miss. But I do like the style of those things gone by. I learned to use them as a kid. I remember making use of them as a teenager and I have them play an important part in my memory. So there is a certain nostalgia there.
I am also a bit unnerved by multi option and multi task devices. For example I don’t like to listen to music on my computer, because sooner or later I will open another window that will produce some sound. The sounds fight and if I mute one, I mute all. If I listen to music on my cd player while I do stuff on the computer, I will mute the annoying sound and the music is untouched by it.
You can really get a laugh out of me when I am taking a picture with my phone and I get a call at the same time. All these many options and functions usually do a very good job of distracting from doing one thing by interrupting with another.
I am not saying that I don’t want these devices. I am very thankful that there are cell phones now that let me text my friends, find my way, and let me google what I want to know. I am very thankful that there are computers that make research a walk in the park instead of a week in the reference section and thank heavens for spell check!
What I am saying is, that I cherish the option of using those outdated devices as well. They have a very different feel to them and require both a very different skill set and mind set. Interacting with these things connects us with the past and its zeitgeist without having to deal with each aspect of that bygone reality. I like that.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Analog and manual

  1. Dome Woo says:

    That was really refreshing to read, because I thought I would be alone with this attitude. I remember that I was asking my dad to get me a typewriter when I was a teenager. If memory servses correctly I got an electronic one, which he found somewhere at his office. The only bad thing about it, you still had find the right ink rolls and typing on it was like hammering on rather rusty doorbell knobs. So my fingered tended to get cramped after just a few minutes writing on it.
    In the end I had to switch back to pen and paper, before we got our very first family computer with access to the internet in 1996. Oh, I remember those dial up tone days very fondly 🙂
    My mom gave me my first camera. It was a Kodak from the 70’s – I LOVED THAT CAMERA SO MUCH – ups! I seem to have misplaced it or it is just hidden somewhere in an old box. I miss it so much, because it had this handle thingy, which you had to push outwards and then push the red button to take a picture. I annoyed a lot of people with my little camera. 🙂

    Thank you for taking me onto a nostalgia trip. You are not alone!

    Hugs,
    Dome

Leave a Reply

