Up and away

Sometimes it sucks to be an adult. Sometimes I just want to get up, pack a few things and get going. Just board a plane to somewhere and be gone for a week, or three, or six.
Of course I can’t do that. I can’t just leave. I have kids to take care of and a life to live here. I can also not just squander large amounts of money.
But I still want to go. I want to see new things, have new experiences and talk with new people. I need a break from everyday life. I want to have a little of extraordinary day life. Most of all I would like to have the freedom to come and go as I please without having to be responsible and considering everyone’s schedule before I take a step out of the house.
Maybe at some point in my life I will get that freedom back. At least that is something to look forward to.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Rants and such and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Up and away

  1. I too occasionally suffer from wanderlust! As the saying goes, “all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.” Kids, relationships, possessions are all things we choose to take on, not always fully realising that they can be a burden as well as a joy.
    Kids will grow up and leave (maybe) 🙂 Relationships mature, develop, grow and change. Possessions can be sold, exchanged, gifted, wear out, or just not seem so important as they used to. In short, change is inevitable, the trap that holds us back now does not have to be a lifelong thing. We can of course do anything we want right now, but one of the plus points of being an adult is having the intelligence and emotional maturity that usually stops us from doing things in haste now, that we later regret at leisure.
    Meanwhile a little quality time of one’s own, doing something just for oneself, is nice therapy!

Leave a Reply

