Sometimes I forget good things

I’m having music on right now. Music almost always elevates my spirits, wakes me up and turns me into a nicer human being. It can also distract me, but that is a small price to pay for easy access to happiness. But guess what? Sometimes I don’t listen to music all day. Or if I do, it is not music I turned on myself. I might still be humming a song, but not use music as the feel good tool it can be.

I also like to go on walks. They get my mind going and are good for my body just as a side effect. Another thing that really makes me feel good is yoga. I haven’t been to a yoga class in a real long time and my walks are turning shorter. I mostly use them now to get from point A to point B on the shortest way possible.

Then there is drawing and painting ridiculous things, juggling, dancing my heart out, singing so loud that the walls shake, and chatting with friends all night long. All those things I like and all those things are good for me. Why don’t I do them more often? The answer is is easy. In the daily routine, I forget about them. I realize that I didn’t do these things only after I spent all day doing the things expected of me (by myself just as much as by others). Only after I break out of my routine and really go for it, I get to the point where I realize: “Hey this is doing me good. I should do this more often.”

Now I do understand that routine is a good thing. It helps everyone to get the daily life things done that need to get done. Things fall into place and everyone know what is expected of them. However, every once in a while I need a break from it and do something silly. I have to remind myself of all the things that I used to enjoy Be it a karate kick or a dance move, balancing on the sidewalk with the arms out, or climbing a tree and feeling the wind in my hair. I have to remind myself that I am the sum of my experiences and that some of those experiences bear repeating.

I did remind myself this morning by the simple act of turning the music on.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sometimes I forget good things

  1. Information is not knowledge. Knowledge is not wisdom. Wisdom is not truth. Truth is not beauty. Beauty is not love. Love is not music. Music is the best…

Leave a Reply

