On buying books

Yesterday was my birthday and guess where we went? To our local independent bookstore to buy books. I was one happy camper. I got me four books I wanted to read for a long time. Three of them YA, one sic-fi.
My kids got themselves a book each. They also went to their school’s book fair earlier and I happily let them pick some books there as well. I am a bibliophile and I have instilled that same love of books and reading into my children.
I think loving to read books is just part of our book buying extravaganza. We also love to have books. We have bookshelves pretty much in every room in our house. And let me tell you, those suckers are filled to the brim. Just looking at a bookshelf has a soothing effect on me. I cannot imagine living in a house without books. I know they are heavy and dusty and a pain in the behind should we ever decide to move again, but I consider them a necessary part of my life.
I also own a kindle. However when it comes to the whole book experience, electronic readers are just not the same. I can’t look at the spines and the cover art of all the books I have on there. I can’t take my kindle anywhere near water. But most importantly, I can’t share my books. I am an avid book lender and borrower to and from my friends. We tell each other about our newest finds and important topics. I can’t just give out my kindle with more than 60 books on it.
Also, I guess I have to buy physical copies of the books I want to get signed by their authors. Signing my kindle is just not an option.
Combine that with the fear that all the books on my kindle might get erased, either by premeditation or by accident and you can see why I happily go out and buy real books again and again.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Rants and such, Updates and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On buying books

  1. ChelseaIRL says:

    I love this! in a world that argues whether print books will remain a thing, I love seeing things like this! 🙂

  2. Just wanted to let you know that I am enjoying your blog! So I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger award. Stop by my sight to find out the steps to accepting it, if you choose to!
    http://cherylfassett.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

