When is it really done?

Yesterday I took the first page of my novel and edited it along the suggestions of a professional editor. (The editor had done a small sample.)
Then I printed it out.
I also printed out the first page without the edits.
I gave both to my husband and asked him which one he liked better. He firmly pointed to the original. He considered it truer to the story.
So now I wonder:
Am I done?
Can I send it as is?
That is at once a liberating and scary thought.
I also look for other explanations for this turn of events.
Maybe he only liked the original better, because he knows me and has a much deeper insight into the story than the occasional reader?
Maybe the editor got the wrong ideas in editing, because the original was too vague and could be interpreted in different ways?
Maybe I need an editor, but not this particular one?
I have no idea.
I’m just sitting here, wondering if I am really done.

About scratchingcat

Writer, mother, friend.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Updates, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When is it really done?

  1. Sam says:

    I’m told for many, book are never finished they merely escape.

  2. ChelseaIRL says:

    it sounds like you need beta readers. maybe show the same sample to few different people so you can get a better idea of how the average reader will feel.

Leave a Reply

